• Your Name:
    Katie! My real name is Katherine, but I have never gone by that. Like never.
  • Tell us a little bit about yourself, hobbies, occupation, etc…

    At heart, I am still five years old … so, naturally, I’ve always felt drawn to being around kids. Every job I’ve had has involved working with them in some way. I got my Master’s in Counseling Psychology in 2015 and have been working as a therapist (with kids and families) since then.I feel my best when I am in nature, hiking in the woods somewhere or hanging out on the beach! I love learning about anything wellness/nutrition related (thank you podcasts) & concocting healthy dessert recipes. I am also into yoga, adventuring anywhere new, and love a good camping trip. My favorite places to be are the desert (I’ve been going to Arizona every Memorial Day since I was less than a year old) and Tahoe (who doesn’t love it there, am I right?). 

    I am proud to say I’m a Bay Area native :). I moved to Washington state for college and stayed there a couple years after, then moved to San Jose for grad school & a job. My husband Brian and I knew we wanted to migrate back towards the East Bay, so ended up moving to Pleasanton last June. My parents and siblings are closeby … I’m super grateful for that. I love getting to spend time with them & watching my nephews grow up!

  • I like…
    All things outdoors, sitting on the beach, being active, eating healthy, exploring a new city, spending time with people I care about.t
  • I dislike… 
    Traffic. And when you get to the end of a really good Netflix series and you’re out of a good show to watch.
  • eat or what is your favorite food:
    I try to spice it up and eat different things! Recently I’ve been really into learning about Ayurveda and cooking Ayurvedic recipes (check it out if you haven’t heard of it!). I usually have a smoothie for breakfast and try to cook big batches of veggies, or whatever else I am making so that I can have lunch and dinner easy peasy throughout the week. Favorite go to? Probably some sort of taco with all the guacamole.
  • What goals have you achieved? What are your new ones?
    Hmm. Getting double unders was a big achievement for me! Definitely didn’t used to be able to do those. I also did a Ragnar race this past summer in Tahoe, that was a cool achievement too (way harder than I thought it was going to be). I’ve been trying to get a pull up for who knows how long. So that’s still a goal :).
  • What is your favorite movement?
    Probably anything in the squat family. I like deadlifts too. Rowing, or running. I am all about the endurance/heavy on the cardio workouts … Those are my fave.
  • What is your least favorite movement?
    Definitely snatches.
  • What is your favorite quote or words to live by?
    ‘Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.’― Howard Thurman
  • Do you have any advice to new members or someone thinking about joining or starting their fitness journey?
    Go for it! I used to be super intimidated of the crossfit world … Thought I was going to be the odd one out not knowing what to do. One of the first crossfit classes I went to (at another gym), I loaded up too heavy on back squats and totally collapsed. Weights were flying everywhere. So long story short, we all start somewhere. Coaches at BRICK know how to coach you wherever you’re at in your fitness journey, and we’re all in it together … other members will be there to support you along the way :).
  • What do you love about Brick Northern California?
    That it’s a family! Knowing that you’re going to have a good time when you show up at the gym makes it that much easier to go. Everyone is super supportive, both members and coaches. And coaches take time to meet you where you’re at! I also love that you never have to think about what you’re going to do for a work out. You walk in and voila! You’re guaranteed a good sweat.